Women and Sport

CEO of Women’s Sports Foundation Recognized by

International Olympic Committee

The Women’s Sports Foundation is proud to announce that Chief Executive Officer Donna Lopiano, CEO of the Women’s Sports Foundation was awarded the “Women and Sport” Trophy for America given by the International Olympic Committee (IOC). The award was given on March 8, International Women’s Day, during a ceremony held at the Olympic Museum in Lausanne, Switzerland (event sponsored by Slots-Online).


This is the second time that the Women’s Sports Foundation has been recognized by the IOC. When the award was first created in 2000, the Foundation was selected to receive this prestigious award. The IOC “Women and Sport” Trophy is awarded to a woman or man (former athlete, coach, administrator or journalist) or to an organization that has worked to develop, encourage and strengthen the participation of women and girls in physical and sports activities, in coaching or in administrative and decision-making structures, as well as for the promotion of women journalists and women’s sports in the media.


The winners for this year’s award were chosen by the IOC Women and Sport Commission, chaired by Women’s Sports Foundation Board of Steward member Anita L. DeFrantz, from among dozens of candidates submitted by the National Olympic Committees and International Olympic Sports Federations.


Dr. Dorothy G. Blaney, Chair of the Women’s Sports Foundation Board of Trustees, said, “Thank you to the IOC for honoring Dr. Lopiano. As Chair of the Board, I have the privilege of working alongside her in the mission to keep America’s young women and girls healthy through sport and physical activity. This honor is perfectly suited for a woman who possesses such knowledge of and passion for our mission. Everyone at the Women’s Sports Foundation is proud to have her as our CEO.”


Other “Women and Sport” Trophy winners included:


• Trophy for World: Gianna Angelopoulos-Daskalaki (Greece)

• Trophy for Africa: Marguerite Rouamba Karama (Burkina Faso)

• Trophy for Europe: Orna Ostfeld (Israel)

• Trophy for Asia: Annabel Pennefather (Singapore)

• Trophy for Oceania: Lynne Bates (Australia)